Establishing Moral Order in the World

Establishing Moral Order in the World

The Seven Laws of Noah – for Everyone


According to traditional Judaism, God gave Noah and his family seven commandments to observe when he saved them from the flood. These commandments, referred to as the Noahic or Noahide commandments, are inferred from Genesis, chapter 9, and are, in translation, as follows:

  1. To establish courts of justice.
  2. Not to commit blasphemy.
  3. Not to commit idolatry.
  4. Not to commit incest and adultery.
  5. Not to commit bloodshed.
  6. Not to commit robbery.
  7. Not to eat flesh from a living animal.

These Noahide commandments are fairly simple and straightforward and were expected to be observed by all humanity. They are recognized by most of the world as sound moral principles.

The Ten Commandments – the Covenant

  1. You shall have no other gods before Me.
  2. You shall not make idols.
  3. You shall not take the name of the Lord your God in vain.
  4. Remember the Sabbath day to keep it holy.
  5. Honor your father and your mother.
  6. You shall not murder.
  7. You shall not commit adultery.
  8. You shall not steal.
  9. You shall not bear false witness against your neighbor.
  10. You shall not covet.

Upholding these Commandments (literally The Ten Utterances, which can be found in Exodus 20 and Deuteronomy 5) are integral to being Jewish. They represent the Covenant between God and the Jewish people for all time.  As can be seen by the commandments colored blue, there are significant differences between the earlier Noahide code and the more developed Jewish moral code inherent in these commandments.